The Blossoming Brain Blog
Wednesday, 7. August 2002
The M.I.L.O Webliography

Welcome to the M.I.L.O (Mercedes Ilena Lopez Online) Webliography. My name is Mercedes Lopez, and I am a Speech-Language Pathologist. I graduated from Marshall University in the Spring of 1999 with my Master's Degree, and then moved to San Diego to pursue an awesome job opportunity.
There are several purposes for this piece of work: Most importantly, I want to educate the public about Alternative Augmentative Communication and AAC devices. AAC is my personal area of interest as an SLP. As a result of my extensive research and work with people who need AAC devices, my burden is to see ample funding become available to cover the cost of devices. My second purpose is to share a little bit of my personal life with you. As a result, you will find several links to sites devoted to AAC, as well as links to sites where I enjoy spending my free time. I invite you to take off your shoes, grab a nice, cold drink, and spend some time wandering around my webliography.

Speech Pathologist and Audiologist Specific Sites:

ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) is a website designed for professionals, students, and the general public. The website contains an abundance of information, including up-to-date information about the field of Speech Pathology. Students and professionals can take advantage of the research links and access to journal articles. Anyone interested in Speech Pathology will enjoy learning about our field, and what a career is like in Speech Pathology or Audiology.

The NSSLHA (National Student Speech Language Hearing Association) website is specifically designed to give Speech Pathology students access to information which is pertinent to their continuing education. The site contains links to news and events, along with access to research and study information. If you are currently studying to be an SLP, and are not a member of NSSLHA, the site also contains information about how to join the group.

If you are considering applying to the Communication Disorders Program at Marshall University, or even if you are a current student, take a virtual tour of the facility. You can meet the faculty, view the clinic handbook, and access information about the undergraduate and graduate programs.

Are you a Speech-Language Pathologist who is looking for job? Would you like to chat with other SLP's? Would you like to share ideas with other professionals? Would you like to obtain information on products available in our field? If so, take time to visit the Speech-Language Pathologist website.

Alternative Augmentative Communication Research Resources:

For detailed information on Alternative Augmentative Communication (AAC), publications, and resources, visit ISAAC (the International Society of Alternative and Augmentative Communication.)

If you are interested in learning about AAC, or sharing tips and ideas with other AAC users, join the ACOLUG (Augmentative Communication Online Users Group.)

For a list of AAC organizations and device vendors, visit the AAC Links website. This site also contains links to AAC news and events, along with research several research links.

For helpful ideas about AAC and its products, AAC activities, tips of the month, and general information about AAC, visit the AAC Intervention website.

Need helpful information about AAC and young kids? Be sure to visit the YAACK (Augmentative and Alternative Communication Connecting Young Kids.) It is here that you can find advice on how to choose the right AAC device for your child, along with some necessary teaching techniques to make adaption easier for your child.

Access to this sight will give you a comprehensive list of AAC devices, including general information and pricing.

FUN SITES:

If you ever find yourself engulfed in total boredom, don't fret because consolation is just around the corner!

Everybody needs a good laugh now and then..... Check out the joke of the day!

Do you ever wonder how people can be so stupid?!?!? Wonder no more. This site will give you all the proof you need.

My Personal Favorites:

This is for all of the wheelers and dealers of the world..... If you like name brands at much lower prices, you will be happy you stopped here.

Who wants to trade spaces? All you need is 2 sets of couples, 2 designers, 1 carpenter, and 2 days to make one room in your house look professionally decorated.

Hey, get out and see the world, just do it without paying full price for your airline ticket or hotel room.

Who's up for a Grand Slam breakfast at a cheap price? That's what I thought.....

Everyone needs a good pair of shoes.....

I see a vacation in my future..... Where would you like to go? Cancun, Maui, Europe? This is the site for all of your vacation rental needs.

Communication is the key to successful relationships! Stay in touch with those you love.

Do you really believe everything you hear?If you do, then keep up with the latest word on the streets!

What is the weather like in your city? Access the 7 day forecast with a mere click of a button.

Online for 7992 days
Last modified: 8/15/02, 3:57 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Reflection Content Reflection When
I saw the three little letters M-R-P on the syllabus for...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 6:37 AM)
Newspaper Article *This fictional Newspaper
article was written to incorporate my Multi-Genre Research Project. The...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:46 AM)
PowerPoint Presentation *This fictional
Presentation is given by Mercedes Lopez, SLP. It has been designed...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:42 AM)
Zoe's Journal *This genre piece
contains a collection of fictional journal entries written by Zoe....
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:34 AM)
Table of Contents Welcome
to the Table of Contents of my MRP. Please click on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 6:25 PM)
Welcome to the Blossoming Brain
Blog: Where Ideas Come to Life. I am a...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 5:59 PM)
Guest Editorial *This is a
fictional column written by the father of Zoe, concerning funding...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 4:30 AM)
References Angelo, Dianne
H. & Parette, Howard P. (1996). Augmentative and Alternative Communication Impact on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 3:32 AM)
"I AM" Poem *The genre
piece is a fictional poem written by Zoe. Zoe is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 7:36 PM)
Zoe's Journal 7.01.02
It’s the ending of another day, the beginning of a new month....
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 2:12 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:02 AM)
About the Author Hi! My
name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:00 AM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 4:57 AM)
CD Saga.....Part 10.....The FINAL Week
Dear Me: "I AM WOMAN; HEAR ME ROAR!" (Burton &...
by plumcrazy4you (8/11/02, 8:33 PM)
The M.I.L.O Webliography Welcome
to the M.I.L.O (Mercedes Ilena Lopez Online) Webliography. My name is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 7:30 PM)
CD Saga.....Part 9.....All work, No
sleep I can't believe that I can actually see the...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 6:28 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 10:02 PM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:52 PM)
About the Author Hi!
My name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:49 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher