The Blossoming Brain Blog
Thursday, 8. August 2002
Preface

I chose to do my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's devices because I am intrigued about the various ways through which people communicate aside from direct speech. I didn't have any sort of direct intervention in helping me to choose this genre, other than the fact that I knew little about it, yet wanted to know much more. It made sense that a research project should be centered around a topic of which you know little about.

As I began to think about AAC and AAC Devices, I tried to place myself in the life of someone who was solely dependent upon a device for communication. And the more I thought about it, the more I couldn't imagine what life would be like. I would venture to say that most people take the gift of speech for granted. We rely on our intonation to relay emotions. We rely on spoken words to relay our message. The closest I have ever come to being in a non-speaking environment is when I am totally alone with no one to talk to and no music to sing to. And even at that, my time without speech is minimal, probably lasting no more than a few hours. How can I compare a few hours to many years? I believe that the gift of speech and communication is an amazing thing, in which we should be awed.

So, out of my thought processes arose the topic of how instrumental AAC devices are in the lives of those who are unable to communicate through speech. As I began my research, I soon realized that the cost of AAC devices have an expansive range. Since I am studying to become an SLP, I thought that it would be pertinent for me to take my research into a new realm. Exactly how can I (as a future SLP) justify the expense of an AAC device, regardless of how minimal or maximal the cost may be? Is there any reason why monetary issues should stand in the way of a life enhancing device? As a result, through my genres, I have desperately tried to present convincing evidence as to why AAC devices are so critical in the lives of those who need them.

Online for 7992 days
Last modified: 8/15/02, 3:57 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Reflection Content Reflection When
I saw the three little letters M-R-P on the syllabus for...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 6:37 AM)
Newspaper Article *This fictional Newspaper
article was written to incorporate my Multi-Genre Research Project. The...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:46 AM)
PowerPoint Presentation *This fictional
Presentation is given by Mercedes Lopez, SLP. It has been designed...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:42 AM)
Zoe's Journal *This genre piece
contains a collection of fictional journal entries written by Zoe....
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:34 AM)
Table of Contents Welcome
to the Table of Contents of my MRP. Please click on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 6:25 PM)
Welcome to the Blossoming Brain
Blog: Where Ideas Come to Life. I am a...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 5:59 PM)
Guest Editorial *This is a
fictional column written by the father of Zoe, concerning funding...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 4:30 AM)
References Angelo, Dianne
H. & Parette, Howard P. (1996). Augmentative and Alternative Communication Impact on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 3:32 AM)
"I AM" Poem *The genre
piece is a fictional poem written by Zoe. Zoe is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 7:36 PM)
Zoe's Journal 7.01.02
It’s the ending of another day, the beginning of a new month....
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 2:12 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:02 AM)
About the Author Hi! My
name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:00 AM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 4:57 AM)
CD Saga.....Part 10.....The FINAL Week
Dear Me: "I AM WOMAN; HEAR ME ROAR!" (Burton &...
by plumcrazy4you (8/11/02, 8:33 PM)
The M.I.L.O Webliography Welcome
to the M.I.L.O (Mercedes Ilena Lopez Online) Webliography. My name is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 7:30 PM)
CD Saga.....Part 9.....All work, No
sleep I can't believe that I can actually see the...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 6:28 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 10:02 PM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:52 PM)
About the Author Hi!
My name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:49 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher