The Blossoming Brain Blog
Monday, 24. June 2002
Learning Futures

Holy cow! These particular prompts are giving me a headache.....which, if the truth be known, is probably the intention. Honestly, I have never really sat down and thought about myself as a learner. I guess now is a good time to start.

For the first prompt, I decided to use the the handy Merriam Webster dictionary online to look up the word "forge." The simplest meaning that I could find was "to form." When I plugged the meaning into the prompt, it actually made more sense to me. Trust me, that's a very good thing. So, "how can I continue to form my academic and professional development?" I guess the answer to that would be to continue the learning process. If I were to stop learning right now, there would be now way that I could even think about starting a career in Speech Pathology, nor could I even attempt to grow academically. For me personally, I believe that learning should go "above and beyond the call of duty," so to speak. I know that I need to push myself to learn things that are required for a class, *AND* to learn things that are necessarily required. I can't tell you how many classes I have been in where not even half of the chapters were covered. Imagine how much more "learned" I would be right now if I had taken the initiative to learn beyond what was required of me. And that is not an easy thing to do. Sometimes I am so glad to get out of a class that the very last thing I want to do is keep on learning............ Yet it is essential to my livelihood as a student and someday Speech Pathologist.

I think that researching into my learning in an ongoing manner involves a constant "check up" of the methods that I use for learning processes. *They* always say that everyone uses and/or has a different process for learning material. I don't think that I can label myself under one certain learning process. Depending upon the material, I *think* that I use several methods to expedite my learning. I know for a fact that I have one process labeled "Cram Memorization to make it through a Test." And as I think about it, is probably shouldn't even be labeled under learning. Sometimes I think that I get into such a *rut* with learning. There are probably times when I need to use an accessory method while learning but I am too lazy to figure out what that method should be.

The next prompt brought one word to my mind: GENERALIZATION. I think it ties hand in hand with the previous prompt. As I do this *research* into my learning, and I discover *new* things, I need to generalize this to every area of my development including the academic, and professional.

Unfortunately, I believe that my responses to opportunities for research are not "gung-ho" in nature. Unlike Jennifer, I don't thrive on doing research. So I guess I am in a position where I have to push myself to take advantage of those opportunities. Lately, I have been feeling totally "burned out." Between last semester (what a wild one) and summer classes, I am feeling the pressure. And only having one week of summer free of classes, I am already feeling the pain of fall. Currently I am dealing with a lack of motivation at every angle. I just want a break, ever so small, to just breathe.

I meet my own learning needs by satisfying the "hunger" for knowledge. There are certain things that really interest me, and in those areas I am more willing to do my own research. But in areas where I am least interested, it takes all of my willpower to make myself learn it. It is during these times that I tend to "learn" the material on a short term basis. On the other hand, I don't want to be someone who knows a little about most things, but not alot about any one thing. I hear that phrase being used so often when referring to doctors. That really isn't a comforting thought. I don't want that stereotype attached to me. But I realize in order to be out of that group, I must take the initiative to learn the most that I can about everything.

Online for 7979 days
Last modified: 8/15/02, 3:57 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
August
Recent updates
Reflection Content Reflection When
I saw the three little letters M-R-P on the syllabus for...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 6:37 AM)
Newspaper Article *This fictional Newspaper
article was written to incorporate my Multi-Genre Research Project. The...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:46 AM)
PowerPoint Presentation *This fictional
Presentation is given by Mercedes Lopez, SLP. It has been designed...
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:42 AM)
Zoe's Journal *This genre piece
contains a collection of fictional journal entries written by Zoe....
by plumcrazy4you (8/16/02, 5:34 AM)
Table of Contents Welcome
to the Table of Contents of my MRP. Please click on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 6:25 PM)
Welcome to the Blossoming Brain
Blog: Where Ideas Come to Life. I am a...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 5:59 PM)
Guest Editorial *This is a
fictional column written by the father of Zoe, concerning funding...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 4:30 AM)
References Angelo, Dianne
H. & Parette, Howard P. (1996). Augmentative and Alternative Communication Impact on...
by plumcrazy4you (8/15/02, 3:32 AM)
"I AM" Poem *The genre
piece is a fictional poem written by Zoe. Zoe is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 7:36 PM)
Zoe's Journal 7.01.02
It’s the ending of another day, the beginning of a new month....
by plumcrazy4you (8/14/02, 2:12 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:02 AM)
About the Author Hi! My
name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 5:00 AM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/12/02, 4:57 AM)
CD Saga.....Part 10.....The FINAL Week
Dear Me: "I AM WOMAN; HEAR ME ROAR!" (Burton &...
by plumcrazy4you (8/11/02, 8:33 PM)
The M.I.L.O Webliography Welcome
to the M.I.L.O (Mercedes Ilena Lopez Online) Webliography. My name is...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 7:30 PM)
CD Saga.....Part 9.....All work, No
sleep I can't believe that I can actually see the...
by plumcrazy4you (8/9/02, 6:28 AM)
Preface I chose to do
my Multi-Genre Research Project on Alternative Augmentative Communication and it's...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 10:02 PM)
Acknowledgements First of all I
would like to thank my professor, Mrs. McComas, for sharing...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:52 PM)
About the Author Hi!
My name is Emily Whitlow. I am currently a Senior at...
by plumcrazy4you (8/8/02, 9:49 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher